Ann Collins Whitmore was a dedicated physiotherapist who served her patients from the beginning of her career in the Canadian Military during the Second World War through to the end of her career when she continued to practice though legally blind.

The objective of the Ann Collins Whitmore Student Research Competition is to recognize the top Canadian physiotherapy student(s) or student groups whose research papers demonstrate the highest standard of achievement.

2018 Ann Collins Whitmore Student Research Competition

Nine physiotherapy schools participated in the 2018 Competition. Congratulations to Queen’s University, Université de Laval, Western University, and McMaster University; after being reviewed by the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) of the Physiotherapy Foundation of Canada, their research papers received top marks!

At Congress on November 2nd, 2018, these groups presented to a jury panel of the SAC to determine the winner. After the panel’s evaluation the results are:

First place: Université Laval

Marianne Roos won first place for her project entitled “Effect of a rehabilitation program on performance-related musculoskeletal disorders in student and professional orchestral musicians – a randomized controlled trial”.

Second place: McMaster University

Katrina Radassao, presenting on behalf of her research group, won second place for their project entitled: “Interprofessional collaboration for Indigenous Access to Healthcare: a scoping review”.


Congratulations also to Queen’s University and Western University for progressing to this final phase of the competition:

Queen’s University

Greg Smith presented on behalf of his research group for their project entitled: “Professional identity formation early in one’s physiotherapy career: A scoping review”.

Western University

Jenny Slysz presented on behalf of her research group for their project entitled: “Training effect of a novel neuromuscular neck training device”.


Congratulations to all finalists!


For information, please contact:


Thank You to Our 2018 Sponsors