Congratulations to our 2017 Leadership Division Award of Excellence winners!

  • Laurence Roy, University of Ottawa
  • Christophe Lett, Université de Montreal 
  • Éliane Duplessis-Marcotte, Université de Sherbrooke
  • Alex Duval, McGill University 
  • Andrew Kordan, McGill University 
  • Jason Wong, University of Alberta

Leadership Funding Project

The Leadership Division offers four awards of up to $500 annually to successful applicants through the Leadership Funding Project.

The purpose of the grant is to provide financial support for projects and professional development activities that align with the vision of the Division. The grants are available to Leadership Division Members for project, research and professional development initiatives.  Deadline for submission of applications is May 31, 2017.  Award winners will be notified by June 30, 2017.


Award of Excellence 

A key attribute of leaders is their commitment to recognizing peers who model behaviours and characteristics they find admirable and inspirational. You can fulfill this commitment by nominating a fellow CPA member for the Leadership Division's Award of Excellence! 


The nominator(s) must recognize the nominee as having contributed to the profession and Association through one or more of the activities listed below. This contribution must be demonstrated within the previous 2 years of CPA membership in service to the profession and to the Association at a local, regional and /or national level, or through employment in a leadership position for a minimum of 3 years.

Activities that will be considered include:

  • Involvement (past or present) at the executive level of the Leadership Division at a regional or national level.
  • Involvement (past or present) in developing, initiating, implementing or evaluating innovative projects or programs for patients, the professional physical therapy community, students or private/public health organizations.
  • Involvement in raising the profile of the Association within the physical therapy profession through committee or executive level participation.
  • Demonstration of at least one of the Physiotherapy Professional Competencies based on their leadership through emotional intelligence, appreciative inquiry and transformational leadership.


The individual must be a physiotherapist with current CPA membership.


Nominations may be made by a member of the Association or by a component of the Association. All nominations are confidential between the nominator(s) and the Leadership Division Executive Committee.

The nomination must include:

  1. A minimum of 2 letters of recommendation, at least one from a physical therapist.
  2. Letters of recommendation must outline the uniqueness of the individual and how the nominee meets the criteria for the award.

Nominations must be submitted to the CPA Leadership Division Chair at, and received no later than March 31, 2017. Award winners and nominators will be notified by June 30, 2017.

For further information, contact the CPA Leadership Division Chair at

Physiotherapy Student Leadership Award of Excellence

The Leadership Division of the Canadian Physiotherapy Association is pleased to offer one “Physiotherapy Student Leadership Award of Excellence” award to one member of the graduating class. Annually, one student will be recognized from each of the fourteen Canadian Council of Physical Therapy University programs.

This award is to recognize a student in the final year of the program who demonstrates exceptional leadership qualities for the promotion of the physiotherapy profession and/or improvement of the quality of student experience. The role of the Leadership Divisions is to coordinate, promote, and provide programs and services for the acknowledgement and development of leadership skills and attributes in physiotherapists.

We identify the value of student leaders, and wish to recognize an outstanding student. The recipient of the award will receive an honorary certificate and a complimentary one-year Leadership Division membership upon registration as a member of the Canadian Physiotherapy Association. To choose a candidate, your school may choose one of two options:

1. Request that the Graduation committee (or equivalent) choose a worthy student secondary to knowledge of students’ leadership performances.


2. Circulate an application form to the graduating class (see next page). Students interested in receiving the award have the opportunity to describe examples of their demonstrated leadership activities and qualities in promotion of the physiotherapy profession and/or improvement of their student experience. They may also comment on any future plans with respect to being a leader as a practicing physiotherapist. Student applications should be submitted to the school’s Graduation committee (or equivalent) for review and selection of a worthy candidate at their discretion.

The Graduation committee should submit the successful recipient’s name to Amanda Pereira ( at least three weeks prior to your school’s convocation. Thank you.

Apply Now