La valeur de la physiothérapie

Les pressions se font de plus en plus importantes pour limiter la croissance des coûts des soins de santé; il est donc essentiel de bien comprendre la valeur des différents services de santé.

L’Association canadienne de physiothérapie (ACP) a confié à deux économistes de la santé le mandat de produire une évaluation factuelle et pertinente de l’apport de la physiothérapie dans 13 domaines. L’information tirée de leur rapport a été résumée en une série de fiches d’information sur la valeur de la physiothérapie.

Vous pouvez consulter les principaux résultats ci-dessous, et les communiquer à vos patients et aux décideurs en santé.

Réadaptation cardiovasculaire

Les maladies cardiaques sont une importante cause de décès au Canada; environ 90 % des Canadiens présentent au moins un facteur de risque. La physiothérapie joue un rôle essentiel dans une réadaptation cardiovasculaire (RC) multidisciplinaire efficace. Le traitement de physiothérapie a des répercussions importantes sur les capacités physiques et la qualité de vie globale des personnes souffrant de maladie cardiaque.

Télécharger

Maladies chroniques

Approximately 50% of all Canadians are living with at least one chronic health condition. Many of these patients are receiving team-based primary health care, where they can benefit from accessing a wide range of providers, including physiotherapists, for management and prevention of future health problems.

Télécharger

Maladies pulmonaires chroniques

Au Canada, l’incidence des maladies pulmonaires chroniques est élevée et va en s’accroissant. C’est l’une des principales causes de décès au pays. Une personne sur quatre recevra au cours de sa vie un diagnostic de maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique (MPOC) et sera traitée pour cette maladie. Les exercices et l’activité physique prescrits par un physiothérapeute sont des composantes essentielles des programmes de réadaptation physique qui visent l’amélioration de la capacité fonctionnelle et de la qualité de vie.

Télécharger

Service d’urgence

Le physiothérapeute qui travaille en service d’urgence joue un rôle central dans l’évaluation, le diagnostic, le triage et la prise en charge de patients souffrant de blessures musculosquelettiques et les personnes âgées fragiles dont les capacités diminuent. Le physiothérapeute évalue et traite les problèmes de mobilité, donne des instructions sur les appareils d’aide à la mobilité et facilite la planification sécuritaire du retour à la maison.

Télécharger

 

Chutes

Au Canada, le coût moyen d’une chute entraînant une hospitalisation frôle les 30 000 $. Cet important fardeau économique met en lumière la nécessité d’améliorer les programmes de prévention. La physiothérapie est hautement efficace pour prévenir et réduire le risque de chute, ainsi que pour évaluer et prendre en charge les personnes âgées après une chute.

Télécharger

 

Physiothérapie à domicile

Plus de 75 % des gens qui reçoivent des soins à domicile sont des personnes âgées qui ont besoin d’aide pour composer avec leurs limitations physiques et cognitives. La physiothérapie à domicile réduit le taux de mortalité due aux chutes ainsi que le risque et le taux de chute chez les personnes âgées, le nombre d’admissions dans un centre de soins ou un hôpital, de même que la durée du séjour à l’hôpital.

Télécharger

 

Soins intensifs

Une immobilisation prolongée à l’unité de soins intensifs entraîne souvent des risques de complications : déconditionnement, affaiblissement, myopathies et neuropathies, infections respiratoires et contractures. La physiothérapie aux soins intensifs est axée sur la mobilisation précoce des patients atteints de maladies graves et la prise en charge respiratoire des patients en ventilation assistée. L’intervention précoce d’un physiothérapeute améliore la qualité des soins.

Télécharger

Arthroplastie

Les physiothérapeutes jouent un rôle important dans la prise en charge péri‑opératoire de l’arthroplastie totale du genou et de l’arthroplastie totale de la hanche, du triage des candidats à une intervention chirurgicale à la réadaptation postopératoire à l’hôpital et dans la communauté, en passant par la formation préopératoire des patients.

Télécharger

Douleurs lombaires

Quatre Canadiens sur cinq connaîtront au moins un épisode de douleurs lombaires au cours de leur vie. La physiothérapie est efficace pour réduire la douleur aiguë et chronique et pour limiter le risque de handicap grave et de maladie chronique.

Télécharger

Troubles musculosquelettiques

Onze millions de Canadiens de plus de 12 ans sont affligés de troubles musculosquelettiques chaque année. De nombreuses données démontrent l’utilité de la physiothérapie dans le traitement de ces troubles. La physiothérapie contribue à améliorer la capacité physique, ce qui permet aux patients de reprendre une vie saine, de retourner au travail et de pratiquer leurs loisirs.

Télécharger

Pédiatrie

La physiothérapie pédiatrique est efficace dans la gestion des troubles périnataux, des maladies diagnostiquées dans la petite enfance et des blessures subies pendant l’enfance, ainsi que dans la transition vers les soins aux adultes. La physiothérapie pédiatrique améliore les capacités physiques et la qualité de vie. Elle a des avantages importants à long terme, notamment parce qu’elle réduit le risque de handicap et la nécessité d’interventions chirurgicales ou d’autres interventions invasives plus coûteuses, ce qui allège à terme le fardeau sur les services de santé.

Télécharger

Accidents vasculaires cérébraux

Chaque année, environ 50 000 Canadiens ont un accident vasculaire cérébral; 75 % des survivants en gardent des séquelles. La physiothérapie fait partie intégrante du plan de réadaptation. Au sein d’équipes d’intervention, les physiothérapeutes traitent les problèmes de capacité physique et contribuent à prévenir la répétition de l’accident vasculaire cérébral, ce qui joue un rôle clé dans la qualité de vie.

Télécharger

The Value of Physiotherapy

As pressure to limit the growth in overall health care costs increases, it is essential to have a good understanding of the value provided by specific health care services.

The Canadian Physiotherapy Association (CPA) contracted two health economists to provide an evidence-based and relevant valuation of physiotherapy across 13 issues. 

Information from their report has been condensed to a series of information sheets that support the value of physiotherapy.

Read the report findings below, and share this information with your patients, clients, and health care decision-makers.

Cardiovascular Rehabilitation

Cardiac disease is a leading cause of death in Canada; approximately 90% of Canadians have at least one risk factor for heart disease. Physiotherapy is integral to effective multi-disciplinary cardiovascular rehabilitation (CR). Treatment by a physiotherapist has a significant impact on the physical function and overall quality of life (QOL) in individuals with cardiac disease. 

Download

Chronic Disease

Approximately 50% of all Canadians are living with at least one chronic health condition. Many of these patients are receiving team-based primary health care, where they can benefit from accessing a wide range of providers, including physiotherapists, for management and prevention of future health problems.

Download

Chronic Lung  Disease

In Canada there is a high and growing incidence and prevalence of chronic lung disease. It is one of the leading causes of death in Canada. One in four individuals will be diagnosed with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) and receive treatment for the disease during their lifetime. Exercise and physical activity training, prescribed by a physiotherapist, is an essential component of PR programs for improving functional performance and quality of life (QOL).

Download

Emergency Department

Physiotherapists working in the emergency department (ED) play an integral role in the assessment, diagnosis, triage and management of patients with musculoskeletal (MSK) injuries and frail elderly patients showing a decline in function. Physiotherapists assess and treat mobility issues, provide instruction on appropriate mobility aids and facilitate safe discharge planning from the ED.

Download

Falls

In Canada, the average cost per fall requiring hospitalization is approaching $30,000. This significant economic burden highlights the need for increased falls prevention programs. Physiotherapy is highly effective in preventing and reducing the risk of falls, and in the assessment and management of fall- related injuries in older adults.

Download

Home-based Physiotherapy

Over 75% of people requiring home care are seniors who require assistance in managing physical and cognitive limitations. Physiotherapy provided in the home lowers mortality rates related to falls and the risk and rate of falls in older adults, reduces number of nursing home admissions and hospitalizations, and decreases hospital length of stay (LOS).

Download

Intensive Care Unit

Prolonged immobilization in an Intensive Care Unit (ICU) puts patients at risk for complications such as deconditioning, ICU-related weakness, myopathy and neuropathy, respiratory infections, and contractures. Physiotherapy treatment in the ICU is focused on early mobilization of critically ill patients and respiratory management of patients who are ventilator dependent. Early intervention by a physiotherapist leads to improvements in quality of care.

Download

Joint Arthroplasty

Physiotherapists play an important role in the perioperative management of total knee arthroplasty (TKA) and total hip arthroplasty (THA) patients, from pre-operative triaging for surgical candidacy, to pre-operative education for patients scheduled for surgery and postoperative rehabilitation in the hospital and the community.

Download

Low Back Pain

Four out of five Canadians experience at least one episode of low back pain (LBP) at some point in their life. Physiotherapy for patients with LBP is effective in reducing both acute and chronic pain while significantly limiting the risk of increased disability and chronic conditions. 

Download

Musculoskeletal

Eleven million Canadians over the age of 12 years old are affected by musculoskeletal (MSK) conditions annually. Strong evidence exists to support physiotherapy in their treatment. Physiotherapy contributes to improved physical function, allowing individuals to return to healthy living, including return to work and recreational activities. 

Download

Pediatrics

Pediatric physiotherapy is effective in the management of perinatal conditions, conditions diagnosed in early childhood, and injuries sustained throughout childhood and the transition to adult care. Pediatric physiotherapy improves physical function and quality of life. Its longterm benefits are significant and include reducing disability and the need for surgery or other more costly invasive interventions resulting in a decreased burden on future use of health care services.

Download

Primary Health Care

Physiotherapists working in primary health care teams maximize mobility in response to the needs of patients across the lifespan. Physiotherapists help ensure continuity of care for patients and their families across the care continuum.

Download

Stroke

Approximately 50,000 Canadians have a stroke each year; 75% of those surviving are left with some level of disability. Physiotherapy for stroke survivors is an integral part of the rehabilitation treatment plan. As members of stroke teams, physiotherapists address physical function issues and prevention of subsequent strokes, which are key determinants of quality of life (QOL).

Download