The CPA Awards program recognizes CPA members who have made a distinguished contribution to our profession.

2023 CPA Awards Recipients

The Canadian Physiotherapy Association is proud to announce our CPA Awards recipients for 2023. Our annual awards recognize members who have made a distinguished contribution to our profession.

CPA Awards Committee Terms of Reference

The CPA invites you to celebrate the remarkable professionals who drive the physiotherapy community with their contributions and hard work. Nominate someone special this year for one of our 10 prestigious awards. Carefully selected by the CPA, the winners will be announced at Congress 2024 in beautiful Vancouver, BC.

Enid Graham Memorial Lecture

This is the most prestigious award bestowed by the CPA. The winner, awarded for their years of excellence in their profession, delivers a speech on the subject of their choice during the conference.

Life Membership Award

Presented to current or former CPA members who have contributed to the growth of the profession through at least 25 years of service at local and/or national levels.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients

Mentorship Award

Recognizes physiotherapists who provide inspiration to their colleagues by acting as a role model for professionalism and volunteerism.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients

Global Health Award

Presented to a member who has augmented the profile of physiotherapy internationally.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients

Professional Contribution Award

Recognizes individuals who have enhanced the profession through a unique and outstanding contribution over a notable period of time.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients

Clinical Education Award

Presented to a member who has made outstanding contributions to the clinical education of physiotherapy students.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients

Maryann Jefferies Leadership Award

Presented to a member of the National Physiotherapy Assistant Assembly (NPAA) in acknowledgement of their contributions to enhancing the role of physiotherapist assistants within the profession.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients

Honorary Membership Award

An honorary membership is presented to an individual who merits special recognition for contributions to the physiotherapy profession. (Available to affiliates/non-physiotherapists.)

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients

Partnership Award

Presented to an organization that has advanced the image, ideals, and goals of physiotherapy.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients

Helen Saarinen Rahikka Student Leadership Award

Presented to a student member who has demonstrated leadership and made outstanding contributions to the promotion of the profession.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients

CPA Student Award

This award is given to the graduate with the highest average from each entry-level physiotherapy education program in Canada. Recipients receive one year’s complimentary membership in the CPA and its Divisions. Recipients determined by each University.


Silver Quill Award

Recognizes excellence in scientific writing for Physiotherapy Canada in the areas of qualitative or quantitative research, knowledge translation and student research.

Recipients determined by editorial board of Physiotherapy Canada.

Criteria  |  Previous Recipients